Boys win Cumann na mBunscol Final.

On Wednesday our boys football team were crowned Division 5 champions after victory over Timahoe in the final at O’ Moore Park.

Following a defeat to the same opposition in the opening day of the league, expectations were for a tough, tight game. However, the boys performed brilliantly to win comfortably in the end on a scoreline of 8-08 t0 2-01.

From the throw in Scoil Bhride seized control of this game and dominated throughout. Corey McGurk got the the first score of the game with a nice point and shortly after Daniel Samuel added a goal to put Scoil Bhride in the driving seat.  Timahoe hit back with a goal to narrow the gap, but another David Samuel goal and points from Cian Cleary and Jake Lawless stretched Scoil Bhride’s lead. Timahoe again tried to rally as the scored a second goal, only for Corey McGurk to strike a brilliant goal as half time approached. Scoil Bhride went into the break ahead by 4-03 to 2-00 .

Timahoe tried to get a foothold in the game at the start of the second half, and some early pressure resulted in a point. The respite was only temporary however, as Scoil Bhride again gained the upper hand. Further goals from Rio Lacumber, Corey McGurk and a brilliant goal from Cian Cleary along with a succession of points from Cian and Jake Lawless put the game beyond the reach of a very spirited Timahoe team.

The victory was the result of a brilliant team performance . In goal J.P. O’Brien was excellent and could do nothing about the two goals conceded. Tommy Dwane and Davin Dunne produced another brilliant display and the Timahoe forwards could do little to stop them winning ball after ball. Jake Lawless and Cian Cleary dominated in midfield and linked up brilliantly between defence and attack. They also chipped in with some incredible scores. In attack Corey McGurk and Daniel Samuel were a constant threat with Corey McGurk  giving a devastating display of forward play.

Rio Lacumber helped himself to two goals on his introduction at half-time, while all our other substitutes played an important part when introduced.

Congratulations to all the boys involved. Everyone in Scoil Bhríde is very proud of your achievement.

Team: J.P. O’Brien, Tommy Dwane, Davin Dunne, Cian Cleary, Jake Lawless, Corey McGurk, Daniel Samuel, Rio Lacumber, Jake Byrne, Hotneil Bamba, Riley Stone, Rhys Walsh, Keane Lacumber, Shane Walsh, David Madu, Ben Birrane.